connect: Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Instagram Follow us on YouTube Read about us on Trip Advisor

Course Outline for 2019 Docent Training Class

Classes meet 8:00-12:00, unless noted in blue — which are full day sessions

Monday, August 26
Introduction — Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum History & Mission
Tuesday, August 27
AZA and Conservation Messages
Wednesday, August 28
Interpretation
Thursday, August 29
Applying Interpretive Principles
Tuesday, September 3
Ecological Concepts
Thursday, September 5
Sonoran Desert Region
Tuesday, September 10
Sonora Desert Region Interpretation
Thursday, September 12
Botany — Plant Adaptations & Identification
Tuesday, September 17
Botany — Cacti & Succulents
Thursday, September 19
Botany — Invasive Species & Plant Interpretation
Tuesday, September 24
Minerals & Geologic History of the Sonoran Desert (full day session)
Thursday, September 26
Climate Change & Water Issues (full day session)
Tuesday, October 1
Water Story — Riparian Habitats (full day session)
Thursday, October 3
Sea of Cortez, Aquarium & Stingray Interpretation
Tuesday, October 8
Invertebrates — Arthropod Overview
Thursday, October 10
Invertebrate Interpretation
Tuesday, October 15
Pollination Ecology & Arthropod Science at ASDM
Thursday, October 17
Mid Term Exam
Tuesday, October 22
Amphibians & Reptiles: Frogs, Toads, & Turtles
Thursday, October 24
Reptiles — Lizards
Tuesday, October 29
Reptiles — Snakes
Thursday, October 31
Bird Overview
Tuesday, November 5
Bird Natural History
Thursday, November 7
Bird Walk & Bird Identification
Tuesday, November 12
Mammals — Animal Habitats
Thursday, November 14
Animal Enrichment & Keepers
Tuesday, November 19
Mammals — Skull Lab & Interpretation
Thursday, November 21
Mammals — Bats & Interpretation
Tuesday, November 26
Tours & Interpretation
Thursday, November 28
Thanksgiving, no class
Tuesday, December 3
Interpreting People
Thursday, December 5
Tohono O’odham History & Culture (field trip — full day session)
Tuesday, December 10
Customer Service & Interpretive Presentations (full day session)
Thursday, December 12
Final Exam
January 6, 7, 9
Policy & Procedure Review
Saturday, January 11, 2020
Docent Graduation Ceremony & Brunch—10:00am (Baldwin Education Building)
Translate this page: